H&M has paused all orders from Myanmar

Myanmar (formerly Burma) is located in Southeast Asia and is bordered by China, Laos, Thailand, Bangladesh and India. The country has a population of around 54 million, according to 2018 estimates.

Britain colonized the country in the nineteenth century but gained its independence in 1948. The army took power in 1962 and ruled autocratically until 2010, when a certain democracy began.

According to the constitution, former opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi is not permitted to become president and has formally held a special position as a national advisor. In practical terms, she was the true civilian leader of Myanmar.

According to the constitution, the military occupies a quarter of the seats in both houses of parliament. These positions are filled by the Commander in Chief.

Aung San Suu Kyi was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1991 for his struggle for democracy, but during his time in government she was criticized for not stopping the army’s actions against the Rohingya Muslims.

On February 1, the ruling National League for Democracy party announced the arrest of several members of its leadership, including Aung San Suu Kyi. Shortly thereafter, the army announced that it had seized power in the country. Since then, protests have taken place almost daily, and the army has killed more than 50 people.

Sources: NE, Landguiden, AFP, TT

READ  Trump's critics are debating forming a third party

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *